Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: MS historic preservation?

MS historic preservation?

Anyone do an MS in Historic Preservation? What do you do now?

I'm looking into Clemson/College of Charleston program.

I did.

Now, assistant director of a planning department. Liaison to historic review board.

I sometimes feel like the fox that got let into the hen house

Registered
    Jul 2007
    I have a certificate in Historic Preservation and a masters in Urban and Regional Planning. I work as a planner for a decent sized suburb and work on all projects in the Historic District and the surrounding overlay district. I am the HP expert in the office, but we have an outside consultant that deals with the architecture/materials side of HP.
    "Never invest in any idea you can't illustrate with a crayon." ~Peter Lynch

Quote Originally posted by beach_bum View post
    I have a certificate in Historic Preservation and a masters in Urban and Regional Planning. I work as a planner for a decent sized suburb and work on all projects in the Historic District and the surrounding overlay district. I am the HP expert in the office, but we have an outside consultant that deals with the architecture/materials side of HP.
    Interesting. I'm starting to think that in addition to applying to MLA programs, I might try out the Clemson/CofC Historic Preservation Masters, and/or maybe the College of Charleston City/Regional Planning Graduate Certificate. Seeing as how you did a masters in Urban & Regional Planning, and a certificate in Historic Pres. ..what are your thoughts on a cert. in city/regional planning and a masters in Historic Preservation?

If you can't tell, I'm trying hard to end up in Charleston...which is proving to be difficult when it has no MLA program!

Registered
    Jul 2007
    Well studying Historic Preservation in Charleston certainly has its advantages