Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Music organizations and city planning?

Registered
    Sep 2008

Music organizations and city planning?

Hi all,

I'm a masters student with a background in music, looking to do my thesis on music organizations and their contributions to planning/community health/social cohesion.

I'm looking for music organizations anywhere that fit the bill (have a mandate that could be considered related to city planning, etc). If you know of any, I'd love to hear about them!!

Thanks so much.
    Barb

Registered
    May 2005
    I lived and worked in Uganda for a while with a dance and music company employing something called "development theatre." Essentially, they fuse elements of traditional dance and music with theater to explore social issues (women's rights, corruption, public health issues, etc.) Sometimes they perform these plays for an urban public and sometimes they work directly with a community slated for work with a development agency (government, local or international). In these scenarios, they will work with that community to write their won play that is an expression of their hopes, anxieties, concerns, disagreements, etc. on a particular topic and this becomes the basis of community discussions about creating plans. As I mentioned, these plays rely heavily on traditional dance and music forms. For lack of a better term, they are musical theater productions.

You can read about their work here: http://www.ndere.com/

In the US, I am not that familiar with music being used in this sense. I do know that the Alvin Ailey Dance Theater used to have a program in various US cities working directly with low income youth and I am sure there are similar programs out of Jazz at Lincoln Center and the like. I think many of these take the "personal empowerment" route to community development.