Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Masters of real estate and development - does it make sense?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2008

Masters of real estate and development - does it make sense?

Hello again, thought I'd address the Urban Planning Community on some thoughts I've been having on graduate school. After some research I've been looking into obtaining a Masters of Real Estate and Development. Currently I'm a landscape architect who works on very large projects, some people would consider me a "land planner". My interest in graduate school have been mostly design oriented (i.e. urban design, architecture, urban and regional planning)... until now. The reason being, my background in design has served me well, but I'm also looking on how I can become more profitable for my company and diversify myself into more of the financial and economics behind what we do, although I don't necessarily want to be a "developer".

From my research I have seen many programs that offer a 1 year Masters. This is very interesting, but I'd like to go into a program that is very involved in the Architecture program at the university. Any recommendations or does anyone feel this wouldn't be appropriate for what I want to do? Thanks in advance.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    What exactly do you want to do with a degree like this? MsRED's are not linked to design degrees. I knew one guy who did both real estate/development and had a design degree. I forgot if he was an architect or an landscape architect. He was basically juggling two separate jobs with little to no overlap. Thats not necessarily a bad thing. As a planner/designer I juggle both design and non-design projects (and will be going back for an MLA in a few years).