Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: So really...how long did it take you to find your first planning job?

Registered
    Sep 2007

So really...how long did it take you to find your first planning job?

Hi everyone,

I'm a soon-to-be recent graduate (Masters in Urban Planning). I've been actively looking for a planning position for just under 3 months at this point. Right now I am working part-time in a city where I interned...my previous boss left and unfortunately they decided to not fill her position. I am here simply to help in the transition and there is very little chance that this will turn into something permanent at this point.

I have interviewed for 3 positions with the State of Michigan (1 was a no, 1 they decided not to fill after all, 1 I'm waiting to hear back on). I had a phone interview with a private planning firm for an entry level planner position where the person told me that if I was "really all that good I would have been hired by another planning firm already" (HELLO! No one else is hiring and frankly, I don't really think I want to work for you now.).

This is not an invitation to a pity party (frankly, I'm sick of listening to me whine about being jobless)...but just a plea for some information about what other people went through and how long it took them to land that first job.

I have already expanded my search to non-planning positions, and I'm still hopeful, just a little beat up and discouraged.

Thanks!

Registered
    Aug 2005
    are you tied to a certain geographic location? if not, then cast your net wider. as i mentioned before, i was going to grad school in NOLA and applied up and down the east coast, literally from the FL Keys to Massachusetts. and ended up securing a job in Massachusetts before i graduated. i believe i started looking for jobs in May and began my job in September.