Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Understanding local government

Registered
    Jul 2008

Understanding local government

Hello,

I'm looking to apply to apply for jobs as a planner and I need a small basic overview. I graduated with a degree in history and sociology - so I understand projecting populations and some of the intracies of doing a consolidated or comprehensive plans, but I don't understand the larger concepts.

I'm studying for civil service exams and I want to learn the basics of planning. Terms, history and how local government functions.

Suggestions?

Registered
    Jun 2005
    Have you done any internships? Given the current job market, I'd recommend you think about looking into grad school. This will provide you with the basics and theoretical underpinnings you'll need. It's hard enough out there for planners who already have experience, let alone those who are trying to break into the field - so this is a prime time to be in school.

Also, I wouldn't worry about the civil service exams at this point. You don't take them until after you're hired (and in my case, I'm still waiting for the exam to be offered this year).

Registered
    Mar 2004
    Get a copy of the Green Book or the Job of the Practicing Planner from APA.
    We hope for better things; it will arise from the ashes - Fr Gabriel Richard 1805

Registered
    May 2002
    Quote Originally posted by DetroitPlanner View post
    Get a copy of the Green Book or the Job of the Practicing Planner from APA.
    This is great advice. The specifics of local government change a lot depending on the state you're in. This book gives a good general overview.
    Maintaining enthusiasm in the face of crushing apathy.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    In addition to the Green Book of Planning, I would also add Planning and Urban Design Standards by Wiley. You can download one of the chapters for free from the publisher's website.

Registered
    Jul 2008