Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Park/recreation/trail/open space master planning

Registered
    Oct 2003

Park/recreation/trail/open space master planning

I've been on a long Cyburbia hiatus, but in trying to ignore my job responsibilities this fine humpday afternoon, I thought I'd drop in and say hello.

Does anyone else here practice in the whole parks/recreation/trails and/or open space master planning arena? My job, which I have held for a year and 4 months, involves about 80% of my time working in these areas. (I work as a planner (the only trained planner amongst some landscape architect "planners" with no formal planning training) in a "Landscape Architecture & Planning" group in a midsize A/E firm.) I've been able to have about 20% of my work be focued on urban design, site planning, and transportation projects, working with various groups in the company.

While I really understand the importance of Parks Plans, I find them almost mind-numbingly boring and incredibly un-comprehensive. Or maybe, rather than un-comprehensive, they are just painfully detailed (why in the hell should I care how many tetherball poles are neccesary per 1,000 population?!). I have tried working with my PMs in an effort to make our plans more comprehensive and less detailed, but every time we progress some in this direction, we take two steps backward somewhere else, going back to the old ways. The really frustrating part to me is that even though these plans are incredibly detailed and often (almost always) well over 300 pages in length, they are still very cookie-cutter and often have cut-and-paste text from the last plan we did.

Anyone else have this experience? If so, how have you improved your work?

Mods: Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, but I couldn't find anything that seemed more appropriate....this isn't intended to be a "career advice" item...more a "planning methods" discussion.

Registered
    Jan 2007