Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: PhD v. Masters

Registered
    Sep 2006

PhD v. Masters

Hello!

I am an undergrad in Urban Studies and Planning at UCSD, and I've found the urban planning/urban design questions & answers in this forum really useful.

Something I haven't seen on here though is the difference in the urban planning/urban design world of having a PhD versus a masters. I know in some more industry-heavy field, like computer science, they put you on totally different career paths. Is that the case here? If so, what kinds of careers would be available to people with either of those degrees? How can I determine which type of degree is best for me?

Thank you! I need all the help I can get, I'm planning on applying for next fall!

Registered
    May 2002
    For what it's worth, I've only met one working planner with a PhD. He didnt' even use the "Dr." or put the PhD after his name. It could have to do with the fact that after looking into it, we found out that it was from a long distance learning school.
    Back home just in time for hockey season!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    I "think" I saw one program years ago that had a PhD in Urban Design (it was affiliated with an architecture school). It was geared towards research and teaching college and grad school.

If you want to do design work, skip the urban design degree and go for an MArch or an MLA. See previous posts.

     
    Registered
    Oct 2007
    A master's degree in planning is a practical degree (read: If you want to be a practitioner, get a master's).

A Ph.D. in planning is an academic degree (read: If you want to work for a research institution or teach in a university, get a Ph.D.).

Registered
    Sep 2006