Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: The group interview

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Sep 2008

The group interview

hi again, a few weeks ago i posted asking advice on studying for a Regional Planning Assistant II exam...well somehow I passed and now its time for the interview. the interview time was automatically scheduled so i assumed it was a group interview, i called to confirm and the person said, yes there would be more than one person being interviewed, but i don't know how many. there were about 15 people taking the test with me and they said they'd interview everyone who got at least 70%
    so basically i'm trying to ask what should i expect in the context of a group interview? how will it differ from a regular single person interview? is it appropriate to bring a portfolio?
    i'm a recent MLA graduate and this process is all new to me so i really appreciate any help

Registered
    May 2004
    Grand Rapids, Michigan (Detroit ex-pat since 2004)

Don't assume, ask them

The "group interview" is an alien concept to me, and I've been in the working world for thirty years. (Envisioning a wild improv troupe of applicants all trying to stomp on each other, only not as funny as the Pythons or Second City.)

How about calling them up and asking about the interview format? Please don't explain that you figured it was a group thing.

(I had an oral exam last week; due to phone tag reasons, they set the time for me.)

Registered
    Feb 1998
    I have done the group thing 2 or 3 times, always for director position. Different individual interviews with staff, other departments, planning commissioners, self annointed community big shots, and finally the boss. The only group setting was a reception or a meal. I was never offered a job from one of these settings. Once, they rejected all of us and re-advertised. My guess is that each of us failed one of the sessions.