Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Urban planning schools in major metro areas

Registered
    Feb 2008

Urban planning schools in major metro areas

Which accredited planning schools arent too difficult to get in with a low gpa? I have only one preference and that is it's in a large city. I have a 3.0 gpa and graudating from a low ranked college.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    May 2008
    UT-Arlington - I'm in my first semester here and its been great. UT-Arlington is located in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metro Area.

     
    Registered
    Oct 2007
    UT-Arlington is a good suggestion. You might also look at Memphis and Louisville -- depending on where you want to live.

Registered
    Feb 2008
    What about Ga Tech and Maryland?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    May 2008
    Maryland is in College Park, which isn't really a city but a hybrid of Jersey urban sprawl and college ghetto. You can take the train and be in Downtown DC in 20 minutes, however.

Try UIC in Chicago. 3.0 won't kill you.

Registered
    Feb 2004
    I'll echo the above posters suggestion for UIC. I had a 3.4 from a decent state school (they dubbed themselves a "public ivy", though many schools do). I have no idea how hard it is to get in. Of course they look at more than GPA, but the worse they can do is say no.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Sep 2007
    You might also look at Boston University (which isn't accredited, but has a couple very good teachers.) ASU is an up and coming university as well that is is in a big (if imo poorly planned) city. I had an under 3.0 gpa from a very good liberal arts school, but very good GRE, and I took some time between going back to school in which I gained life experience, and am at UNC, so different combinations can get you there.

Registered
    Mar 2007
    I am about to graduate from Wayne State University in Detroit - cannot get much more urban than that!