+ Reply to thread

Thread: Sydney job market

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2008

Sydney job market

Anyone else based in Sydney?

I've been looking for over a year in Sydney for suitable employment. I find this forum quite useful as PIA doesnt really have any advice except that there is a planning shortage.

With the current economy and the NSW government going broke, a lot of smaller private firms have made many people redundant including myself.

I have been working in the Sydney area for 2 years and worked previously overseas for 5 years. Im looking for work in Sydney, but with the economic crisis and the holiday season it has been hard.

The Sydney job market is truly a mystery. Do they want just NSW experience? Total planning experience? Etc. I have had job offers previously that ranged form anywhere from 50-85k. The problem is there is no salary survey and recruiters in Sydney will tell you anything to get you to sign up.

Even local government is a mess in NSW. Most places wont hire a planner with more than 2 years experience for fear that they will leave. Grad planners can walk straight in to a position paying 55-65k in local government.

I went for state job paying 60k. That job was taken by someone with 5 years experience. For what reason I will never know. Maybe that planner doesnt have faith in their abilities. With the current crisis its amazing to think how low some planners have sunk in their career ambitions.

Anyone have any comments on the Sydney planning market? I know definately WA and Queensland are less difficult. Why is it so hard to get a decent position in NSW? Supposedly there is a planner shortage, but yet employers are still picky. Any thoughts?

Registered
    Jun 2003