Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Metro rail projects that have been successful

Registered
    Dec 2008

Metro rail projects that have been successful

I am doing my Masters dissertation, I choose the topic on “The factors required for implementation of a successful
    Metro Project”. I am requesting you to send me any kind of literature reviews/ material related to the Metro Rail strategies and sceneries.

Looking for some guidance/advise to make my dissertation more valuable and effective.
    Thanks in advance

Registered
    Jan 2008
    Exactly what do you mean by Metro Rail? To some that implies a subway like the London "Underground" or NYC subway system. Others may think of commuter rail or the "metropolitian railways" that connect the edges of Budapest with outlying Villages/towns.

For the typical completely grade seperated systems, density and extent is critical. The urbaan area must be of relatively high density and the area covered needs to cover a large enough area to generate sufficient trios of a long enough distance.

Google the "Transit Cooperative Research Program". They may have publications that you can download that are of use.

Registered
    Jul 2005
    To answer the basic question in todays economy, check the old news stories from N.Y. on the subway upgrade to automation with sensors.

it's rare to find a rail project, that in it's own mind, doesn't think it's a great success.
    Psychotics are consistently inconsistent. The essence of sanity is to be inconsistently inconsistent.
    -Larry Wall

Registered
    Dec 2008
    Dear All,
    Thanks for the reply
    Please take Topic as whole Metro Rail projects as global view not specify particular project .If you have any particular project also ok i will manage based on that.
    Metro rail focused on the concepts of metro rail concepts, scenarios, strategies, etc. Metro rails, how they will be constructed, operate and maintain throughout the project life cycle, etc