Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Salaries in planning related fields

Registered
    Feb 2005

Salaries in planning related fields

I have followed Cyburbia for years as a business person with a strong interest in planning. I have reached a bit of a crossroads (time to pursue graduate studies even if I stick with business) and am seriously considering enrolling in a MUP program with a goal of changing career paths.

This will sound pretentious, but I have always put a lot of pressure on myself to make a lot of money and have never thought of planning as a very lucrative field. Am I being unfair? Are their paths I could still pursue within planning if I am unwilling to sacrifice with regard to disposable income? What sort of salary ranges would I be looking at?

Seeing as how I am new to the field, I would be interested in almost any suggestion and would be willing to pursue a variety of paths, including public, private, pursuing a phd annd teaching at the university level, or consulting work if it allowed me to get into the field on a full time basis. I am also thinking about going for my masters in business before revisiting these thoughts and would be interested to know if anyone has ever come across any MBA planners.

I know this post is a bit off the wall but would really appreciate any thoughts that the community has. Thanks very much for your help.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    I'm in the same boat. I, too, would like to "make money" in planning. There are a few options.

1. Earn an MBA and/or MSRED and work for a developer. You can earn more money than someone doing "planning." However, these jobs have a higher degree of risk, and you are more likely to be axed first when there are downturns in the market. You can earn millions running a development firm.
    2. Earn a JD and practice land use law. Salaries can start from $150,000 and up.