Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: MUP or MArch?

Registered
    May 2008

MUP or MArch?

This has probably been covered, but I'm currently an undergrad looking to go into either architecture, urban planning or historic preservation. My questions are:

1. Will getting an MArch qualify me for planning jobs if I decide to go that route, or would an MUP be necessary?

2. How much historic preservation do planners do? Is it more big picture stuff, and then the rest is left to architects?

3. Can you do Urban Design with an MUP, or do you need to have an architecture degree to practice that field?

Thanks for responding!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2008
    M.Arch is known to have little to no result in an increase of salary. And if you were to wander to an industry outside of the realm of architecture, a M.Arch would not give you any higher ground than a B.Arch would.

You say you are currently an undergrad? How far in, and what study?

Registered
    Mar 2004

ahh....

M.Arch for sure.....from an accredited school, then get registered and join AIA....then write your own ticket......the end.
    Skilled Adoxographer
    I have two emotions....Silence and Rage

Registered
    May 2008
    I'm currently a senior, with the intention of applying to grad schools for Fall 2010. I'm a history major, but I've taken some arch design and stats courses and had a planning internship. I guess my main question is: Is an MArch more versatile than an MUP or MHP, like is an MArch transferable at all to planning or other fields? How versatile is an MUP?

Thanks!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Sep 2008
    MArch seems to focused to be applicable to planning.

Registered
    Jan 2009