Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Will I get accepted ? (Canadian schools)

Registered
    Feb 2009

Will I get accepted ? (Canadian schools)

Hi,

I graduated just over two years ago with a degree in earth sciences (focus on geology). My grades in the first couple years weren't pretty and I even had to repeat a couple 2nd year courses (didn't fail them just wanted higher grades). My overall GPA in 2.9 because of it. In my final two years however my GPA was 3.5 and in my final year 3.8.

I've been working as a geologist for the past two years and decided I wanted a change. During this time i've become fluent in GIS programs ArcView and MapInfo, as well used other useful programs such as autocad. Working in mining also provides a unique background for planning (specifically environmental planning). I

I've applied to U of T, Ryerson, York and Dal. I'm wondering what my chances of getting in are. anyone out there with a similar experience ?

thanks
    AG

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Aug 2008
    in the states, at least, if your cumulative GPA undergraduate is below 3.0, some schools will say that's ok as long as you have at least a 3.0 in your last two years of undergraduate studies. you should be fine.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2008
    I think your chances are good. I was out for 5 years in an unrelated field and I was accepted to several schools last year.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Nov 2007
    I have a friend at Ryerson with a pretty low GPA and no work experience. I really regret not applying to Ryerson and York, because I would love to be in Toronto. U of T was too intimidating for me to even consider. Good luck!

Registered
    Feb 2009
    Ryerson has both undergrad and graduate programs. Do you know which he's in ? Also are you in a planning program somewhere else in the country ?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Nov 2007
    He's in grad.
    I'm not in planning yet. Applying this year and hoping to get into McGill.

Cyburbian