Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Entry level woes... advice?

Entry level woes... advice?

Hi all.
    I'm a recent MUPP graduate; Iíve got about a year of an internship under my belt, and what I believe to be a strong academic and extracurricular resume, though lacking in much planning work experience.

I know the economy sucks right now and thatís a big damper on things, but does anyone have advice about getting employers to take notice of a true entry level resume?

It seems everything Iím seeing listed as ďentry levelĒ is actually 2+ years experience required!?!?! Iíve even seen some only requiring a bachelorís but require 3-5 yrs experience!
    Is there such a thing as an entry level job anymore? Or are we stuck working part time internships, pro bono volunteering to boost our resumes while poring coffee at Starbucks as the student loans start rolling in?

Any thoughts appreciated.

Registered
    Nov 2005
    Sure there is a such thing as an entry level job. When times are good, which is obviously not the case now, many public sector employers will allow you to substitute your undergraduate/graduate level experience as X number of years of experience. Most entry level jobs are appropriate for people leaving grad school. That is the rosy scenario...

In today's economy, there are a large number of unemployed planners with undergraduate, graduate, and real world experience. It is, unfortunatley for you, an employers market. Given these facts, you are competing against people who meet and exceed the experience criteria who do not need to use their graduate experience as "credit" towards real experience. This is putting you at a competitive disadvantage. Further, many private firms and public agencies are reducing staff or are in hiring freezes. That means there are fewer opportunities for young professionals like yourself to break-in.