Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: How much does where you get your masters matter?

Registered
    May 2008

How much does where you get your masters matter?

I am deciding between Cal Poly SLO and UC-Irvine for a MUP. I am interested in urban design, and want to work for an urban design and planning firm, particularly EDAW after graduation. Cal Poly SLO would be about $18K less overall than UCI. Does anyone know if either school is more reputable among prestigious private sector urban planning and design firms?

Or should I just try to get into UCLA next year? I want to work in Los Angeles.

Thanks!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2009

Cal Poly SLO Grad

I graduated from Cal Poly SLO in the mid-70's. It has never ceased to amaze me the continuous respect that the planning industry in California has for SLO grads. The curriculum there is very hands on and more design oriented than any other institution in the state. Its also a great place to live and go to school, a classic college town in a beautiful environment on the central coast. My impression of both UCLA and UCI from the people I have known who have gone there is that they are principally policy schools. I would not be the planner / designer I am today without my Cal Poly SLO experience.

Registered
    May 2008
    I definitely want a design-focused education, so this is good news! Thanks.

Do you think SLO is well-respected across both the public and private sectors?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2009

Respected on Both Sides