Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Chance me in regards to programs

Registered
    May 2009

Chance me in regards to programs

With the job market the way it is, I've been thinking about going back to grad school sooner than previously anticipated. I'd always liked Urban Planning and constantly kept an eye on construction and development in the cities I've lived in, so I am pretty sure that is where I'd like to go with a career. I'd like to concentrate on Environmental or Transportation planning (probably Environmental).

Anyway, I went to UW-Madison, graduated with a degree in History, although I took calc, stats, finite math, and four economics courses. I took the GRE after my junior year and did badly - 720Q/480V/4.5 despite never getting below 650V on any of my Kaplan or official practice tests (and despite being constantly praised for my writing throughout college). My GPA was a 3.3, with a 3.5 in major. I have no experience and very little way of proving I am interested in urban planning.

Thanks for any info! I want to know what to shoot for. I am thinking the CU-Denver, UC-Irvine, etc type school since I am not exactly Type A anyway.

My top 3 would be

CU-Denver
    UC-Irvine
    Cal Poly
    Last edited by Sunyata; 28 May 2009 at 6:46 PM.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2008
    I don't have any experience with UC Irvine but you should have a very good chance to get into all 3 schools with your stats. You could also try some schools like Virginia Tech where I'm pretty sure you'd get in too. But this whole process is pretty subjective so it is difficult to say for sure whether you would be accepted or not but I think your chances are good. Also it should be noted, the GRE isn't required for either Cal Poly or CU Denver.