Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: How can I find a position in non-profit or CDC?

Registered
    Aug 2008

How can I find a position in non-profit or CDC?

I am a recent grad in land use planning, I am trying to find a job in non-profit or CDC. But I do not know how to find out a position. I did not find out much of those organization on the internet. Many of them do not need planners at all. I want to know where should I look at.
    I do not care the location and salary at present time.

Registered
    Aug 2006
    You should check out the AmericCorps VISTA program:

AmeriCorps Overview - For Individuals

They have many positions that are related to planning. They don't pay a lot (maybe $900 per month, maybe more, maybe less, depending on where you volunteer), but they have free health care, give some support for relocation, and give you a bons if you finish out your commitment. Generally, you have to promise them a full year of your life (full-time with no outside commitments) but in this economy I don't think that would be a problem.

A couple of example positions that are planning-related:

ACCWT Watershed Development Coordinator: build capacity in the watershed organization, organize the water quality monitoring critical to future funding, reach out to youth and adults in their community to create awareness about watershed issues, engage in economic revitalization efforts and find the funds to keep all this critical work moving forward.

Foreclosure Prevention: Working closely with staff and the community, VISTAs will create and support systems that build the capacity of NHS of Baltimore to impact more households. Tasks may include conducting neighborhood surveys, developing workshop materials, recruiting resident volunteers, fundraising, building collaborations and partnerships, or managing data collection.

Registered
    Jun 2005