Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: UK MRTPI planner hopes of finding work in the USA

Registered
    Jul 2009

UK MRTPI planner hopes of finding work in the USA

Hi,

I am new to cyburbia and new to the the USA, so hello on both fronts!

I have moved to California from England following the relocation of my husband work. He fancied the idea of relocating to the office where they see 300 days of sunshine a year rather than the 300 days of rain we see in the UK!!

The weather I can't complain about but the lack of job opportunities for me I can! I was wondering if there are any UK qualified planners who have successfully found work in the US, as a planner, and can you give me any advice.

Also can anyone generally tell me if my UK qualification will be recognized here or do you think I would need to do some conversion course? I was a senior planner in the UK so I have a lot of experience but to get that US planning experience I have been looking at Intern positions. Are these generally only being give to people who are currently studying or would this be a way in?

I know this is a bad time for job hunting all round so any help or advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Registered
    Feb 2007
    Welcome. San Francisco isn't as sunny (and warm) as other places in california, but nothing beats the "indian" summer there (august/september/october). My first question is a three parter:

1) do you have the legal right to work here?
    2) Are you looking to be a private/public sector planner?
    3) What is your planning skill set (i.e. are you a designer, etc).