Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Anyone graduate from a "small school" with their masters in planning?

Registered
    Oct 2007

Anyone graduate from a "small school" with their masters in planning?

After a long hiatus I am back on the forums.....

FYI: I finally graduated this summer with my B.S. in Environmental Studies. I have a big decision to make on graduate school and wanted some of your insight. I graduated from a small school (albeit a state university) and as long as things go well am planning on going to grad school for planning. I was considering FAU and USF in Florida, but I would have to work for a year to get in state tuition so I can afford to go. However, my school does have a Masters program in "Rural and Small Town Planning" and I have read on here that the "title" of the program shouldn't restrict me from getting an opportunity/job in a "large town" but that is only half of the story. I wonder if I should stick around, save time and money and go to the "local" school or likely get a more diverse and potentially better education at the bigger schools with a more established program. Tuition is around the same but the cost of living would be a huge increase along with moving expenses. I guess that brings me back to the title of the thread. Has anyone graduated from a school that is not a "major university"? BTW, the program is not on the accreditation list either, at least not at this time. Advice? Thoughts? Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Registered
    Feb 1998
    I would be cautious of a "Rural and Small Town Planning" program. I have devoted my career to small towns. It is not for everybody. The title of the program sounds more limiting to career choices than other titles.

     
    Registered
    Oct 2007