Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Thinking of becoming a town planner?

Registered
    Aug 2009

Thinking of becoming a town planner?

heay guys

I live on the Gold Coast and im 20 years old and I would love some advice.

At the moment im studying to be a Draftsman at tafe and im thinking of going to university and Studying Urban and Environmental Planning. Mainly because the are almost no Jobs for drafting, and also architecture, its nearly impossible to find un-payed work experience so finding work its nearly impossible.

But iv been told there is still a demand for for Town planners here on the Gold Coast and abroad. And also the town planning coarse is shorter than the architecture coarse. And i don't want to be like everyone else when the finish their course they cant get work.

Do u guys think its a good Idea?

I have some questions regarding the actual job.

What do town planners do, what does a day at work consist of?

What is the average wage of a town planner? Do that get payed more than a draftsman and architects?

Is there Job Very Stressful?

Do they work Long hours?

Is it true that town planners are pretty much lawyers for town planning, as in there job consists of heavily on reading and knowing law or is it balanced with other aspects as well as law?

Is there a design or art aspect to town planning? I hope so

Do town planners use cad software like draftsman and architects?

To the towns planners, do u enjoy your work, if so why?

Thank You.

Registered
    Mar 2009
    I am 24 and also a fellow Gold Coaster,

It is a very rewarding degree I must say. You will see the world differently and it makes you become critical. Keep in mind you are not restricted to just town planning there is so many different opportunities. If you are looking at the design aspect consider Urban Design.