Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Pursuing a career in real estate development with architecture background?

Registered
    Sep 2009

Pursuing a career in real estate development with architecture background?

Hi all,

I recently stumbled upon the MSRED program while researching for grad school programs. I want to learn more about this career before I decide to go into it.

Here's my background: I graduated from UC Berkeley last year with BA. Architecture. I'll have three years of work experience in architectural firm before I apply back to school. I am a LEED AP. I am currently in the final round of an international urban planning design competition in Taiwan.

Here's why I am considering this career change: Being a lowly paid intern architect at a primarly education-based architectural firm, I decided that I want a change. Real estate development seemed like a reasonable choice. I was never the artistic one or humanitarian ones in architecture school. In fact, I like to approach projects from the budget side, more down to earth than my fellow colleagues. The design competition experience also made me realize building grand architecture comes from the initial urban planning and the entrepreneurship of the developers.

My questions: I have researched some of the top schools that offers the MSRED program (MIT, Columbia, USC) and their applicants and a lot of those who are accepted have more experience and more so, direct experience in real estate. For someone like me, without any experience in real estate, with some related architecture experience, how likely is my chance of being accepted in the MSRED programs? and what kind of preparations do I need? Would it be easier to get a MBA with real estate concentration? any career path suggestions? what exactly is lying ahead of me if I am to choose to go down this road?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you,

Dary

Registered
    Sep 2006