Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Involving kids in the planning proccess

Registered
    Sep 2009

Involving kids in the planning proccess

Hello, I am a planning intern in the city of morgantown planning department in WV, I was given an assignment by the director of planning to find ways to get children involved in planning. Basically i need ideas....... school curriculum, activities for children, anything is fine. Thanks for the help.

Registered
    Feb 2007
    Quote Originally posted by fmanlysp View post
    Hello, I am a planning intern in the city of morgantown planning department in WV, I was given an assignment by the director of planning to find ways to get children involved in planning. Basically i need ideas....... school curriculum, activities for children, anything is fine. Thanks for the help.
    Start with the school districts. If you can, tie into international walk to school day which is october 7. Great way to learn about neighborhoods, safety, etc all rolled into one. I have more ideas since we are in contract with a City that requires outreach to the school(s) within the city limits for a downtown/transportation corridor enhancement project so see me at the pm.
    follow me on the twitter @rcplans

Registered
    Aug 2002
    This topic has come up before... Take a look at this thread, for example.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Aug 2001
    Look online for WV's academic standards. The best way to tie planning in is to work with what the state department of education standards, especially in geography and environmental studies. This will give you something concrete to follow, and teachers will be more likely to incorporate your plan into their lessons.

Registered
    Jul 2002

Development for Kids