Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: No work, need help!

No work, need help!

Well, I graduated with my masters back in May and have had no luck finding employment in the planning field. In fact the only responses I've received were from internships; one putting me on the back burner, and another telling me they get more qualified candidates. I asked and "more qualified" ment people with 5-10 years experience with JDs and masters degrees. Needless to say I'm confronted with the reality that I must give up on planning, because I've exhausted every possible avenue I can; that includes people from my school, relatives, and any networking I've been able to accomplish. If people with those types of qualifications are taking up freakin internships then I'm definitely squeezed out of the job market. My question then is what else can I pursue with a masters in planning? I thought about getting into emergency management, since that also interests me, but it looks like I would have to go back to school for that, or at least get some sort of certification?

I live in the D.C. area and while there are reports stating this region has the lowest unemployment in the country, it is still near impossible for recent grads to find steady work, unless they want to work for free. I started submitting applications to the federal government before I graduated, and I continue to do so, but its just not bearing anything. Please, any advice is welcome. I've also considered joining the peace corps, so if anyone has words of wisdom about that feel free to share them.

Registered
    Jul 2003
    Blog entries
    Getting started in a new profession is tough. Getting started in a new profession in the current economy is much tougher.