Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Green Belts: do they foster social exclusion

Registered
    Oct 2009

Green Belts: do they foster social exclusion

Hi there,

I am a third year Planning student and I am thinking of ideas for my dissertation.

I have so far had positive feedback, in regard to researching whether the Green Belt policy actually creates/increases social exclusion, in terms of access to green space.

In this I mean such as the general consensus, that the wealthy tend to live in the suburbs and have easier access to greenspace, whereas the less well-off tend to live in the inner city areas (obviously there are exceptions to this). With the green belt restricting development and safeguarding the countryside, it increases pressure and intensifies development in urban areas, hence restriction of green space.

I was wondering what people think of this topic and what your views are on the question I've posed?

Thanks in advance for any feedback, it would be really appreciated.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Sep 2008
    No green belt policy should create exclusion, the main purpose for a green belt is the protection from urban sprawl, especially if the gren belt includes important natural/geographical features, ie the Toronto green belt/Niagra Escarpment.

Good planning will have every citizen connection to green space, via walking distance or good public transit, walkability is an important buzz world in the planning world today. So I would say no, Green Belt policies do not cut any person from enjoying green space, unless of course there was bad planning practices.

Registered
    May 2005