Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Work experience between MUP and an MBA or MSRED [was: Career question]

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Aug 2009

Work experience between MUP and an MBA or MSRED [was: Career question]

This might not be a new topic here but I thought I could ask...

I am planning to get my MUP first and then work for several years either in the non-profit sector or the private sector that is related to real estate. After working, I really would like to pursue a degree in MBA or MSRED for better opportunities in the future. I know a lot of people said it'd be a waste of money to get MBA or MSRED when you already have MUP, but putting the financial issue aside, is this case not likely? I wish I can get a MUP/MBA dual degree or MSRED instead of pursuing MUP and MBA/MSRED separately, but I doubt I will be able to get into programs with dual degrees or MSRED since I am a recent graduate from college and I lack the experience that they want. Is there anybody who has taken this step or is thinking about it?

I also want to note that I am in a special situation in which I have to apply to grad schools for next year due to personal issues.......it's kind of complicated to explain...If this wasn't the case, I would take different steps...but I think I would really enjoy learning about urban planning in school and it'd be very helpful in many ways when I pursue my career in real estate in the future.

Registered
    Nov 2005
    i started my MSRED 16 months after finishing my undergrad, which means i applied about 6 months after my undergrad. not a very long period at all. it's only a problem if you're dead set on a place like MIT or USC.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Aug 2009
    Quote Originally posted by The District View post
    i started my MSRED 16 months after finishing my undergrad, which means i applied about 6 months after my undergrad. not a very long period at all. it's only a problem if you're dead set on a place like MIT or USC.