Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Need advice: study architecture or planning?

Registered
    Nov 2009

Need advice: study architecture or planning?

Hey everyone! My name is Andy, an 19 year old with a fresh interest in urban/city planning. I'm new to this planning forum (as a matter of fact, this is my very first message), and I'd like to start off with asking for some personal advice.

In many years I've had great interest in architecture, but recently my interest in urban planning has grown quite a bit, and has almost surpassed my interest in architecture. I'm beginning at a university next year, so I'm in a great dilemma weather to choose to study architecture or urban planning. Now I know that it is naturally a very personal subject, but I feel that some advice from professionals and students out there might clear my mind.

So if any of you guys out there has the time or will to write a bit about their experiences with urban planning, the career opportunities, pros and cons and such, I'd be more than thankful

P.S. I forgot to mention that I live in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Velkommen til Cyburbia, andy0550. Min mor er fra Husum og jeg laer og tale lidt dansk.

(I used to be fairly fluent, but you lose it if you don't use it, eh?)

Anyway, why not take your first year to try a little of both and see what you like best?
    On pitching to Stan Musial:
    "Once he timed your fastball, your infielders were in jeopardy."
    Warren Spahn

Registered
    Nov 2009
    Tak skal du have But absolutely true, you don't use it, you lose it. I myself am fra Søborg, so it isn't that far from Husum, as a matter of fact I used to study in Nørre Gymnasium in Husum/Mørkhøj if you know where that is