Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: How to combine public health/health promotion and urban planning

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2009

How to combine public health/health promotion and urban planning

I have a masters degree in public health (primarily health promotion and mental health with a bit of physical activity) and I am now returning to urban planning (bachelors degree) after a hiatus. I have a real interest in land use planning and development but having said that I also want to move into an area where I could make use of and leverage my public health credentials in order to land a good job or take advantage of a niche or emerging health related urban planning area. Does anyone have any suggestions for me? Thank you kindly as I really do appreciate your valuable insights into the realities and opportunities out there...I am excited but I must say I am also a little freaked out about making this move.

Registered
    May 2005
    There is a good amount of work being done in Planning around nutrition and physical activity. This involves a wide range of activities from promoting more walkable places (making sure new ones are walkable and adapting older ones to be more so, land use and zoning changes to encourage smaller local business areas, etc.) to organizing activities that inspire regular activity (especially with children - Safe Routes to School is a good example) and nutrition education (again, especially in schools).

A great organization based in Philadelphia called the Food Trust is also concerned with ensuring that people living in urban areas have access to high quality, raw foods. You can see on their website that this is a serious undertaking. They even have a fund to help supermarket chains locate in poor areas. They do work in schools around nutrition and also in corner stores, where they found most teenagers get a majority of their daily caloric intake. http://www.thefoodtrust.org/