Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Advice about graduate school

Registered
    Dec 2009

Advice about graduate school

I'm 23 and I have been out of college for a little over a year. I'm strongly considering graduate school for urban planning for the fall of 2011, as I have always been incredibly interested in the field. Under graduate wise I went to a competitive liberal arts college in the Midwest. I got a degrees in political science and history, and a minor in African Studies. I graduated cum laud, with a GPA of 3.55, and the GPA for each of my majors is above a 3.7. After college I've drifted between working on political campaigns and doing temp work. I will be taking the GRE this February. I wish to work on another campaign for most of 2010 in order to rebuild my bank account from a long period of underemployment in 2009.

Given, this I'm considering a few things. I want to get a duel MA's, as I'm extremely interested in the political aspects of planning and development. I'm not sure if I should focus on Public Policy, or Public Administration though? I would ideally like to specialize in an area in which I could find work. Also, considering my interest in obtaining a dual degree, what school's graduate programs should I consider? Finally, I'm wondering what my odds are of getting into a graduate program which has a good reputation, yet won't bankrupt me with loans.

I'd appreciate any advice on this matter.

Registered
    Nov 2002
    I think you should consider one of the planning programs that has a strong policy bent, like the ones at Rutgers and Minnesota. You don't really need a dual degree to learn about what you are interested in, just the right single program.

I don't know about financial aid at many of the other schools but I do know that Minnesota is fairly generous - plus the cities are a great laboratory for a grad student.