Urban planning community

Closed thread

Thread: Hello! A young Urban Planner/Designer from Sydney

Registered
    Dec 2009

Hello! A young Urban Planner/Designer from Sydney

Hi fellow planners. It's great to find out there is such an active online community for planners worldwide. I am doing a Master of Urban Development and Design in University of New South Wales in Sydney with a background in Town Planning.

I've been living in Sydney for almost nine years but actually I am from China originally. My undergraduate study is in a 5-year Planning program, and I am specializing in Urban Design at the moment because I just love and am good at designing stuffs. I am hoping to get an entry-level position in Urban Design when I finish my master degree but fear that, due to current economy, there are limited opportunities out there for junior designers these days.

Can anyone share some experience or give me some advice for job hunting preferably in Australia?

Registered
    Aug 2005
    Hello from New York!

Check out the Planning in Australia subform for advice for job hunting in Australia.
    In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. -Martin Luther King Jr.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2008
    Greetings,

In Australia urban planning and design is pretty much unless you have some experience. I know Singapore, Hong Kong, China, Vietnam have had a steady stream of work. If you are willing to volunteer your time then it might be possbile, but try to develop other skills in areas that may be hiring. I was laid off last year from a small firm in Sydney and left the field after 5 years working there and switched to doing project management for a developer. We went from a shortage to an oversupply rather quickly. Good luck and you are more likely to get a job in planning if you go outside the Metro areas in local government.

Registered
    Aug 2007