Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Looking for examples of narrow streets

Registered
    Dec 2009

Looking for examples of narrow streets

I am an intern researching road standards. Does anyone know of examples of areas(preferably in California) with sub-standard road widths (less than 20 feet wide)? I would also appreciate any information regarding ongoing efforts to impose these narrower road standards.

Registered
    Mar 2004
    Only places I've seen like that in CA are in Orange County; Balboa Island and Huntington Beach. These are in some very tight urbanized areas though.

Not knowing the context this is hard to give suggestions about. For example, is this for existing rights of way or for new streets?

You also need to address the type of traffic you expect to get on these streets. For example, large trucks or buses need a bigger turning radii. In many cases, you may run into resistence from first responders or DPWs who might hav conserns ranging from safety to where to dump the snow (though in most parts of CA, this is not much of an issue).
    We hope for better things; it will arise from the ashes - Fr Gabriel Richard 1805

Registered
    Mar 1996
    Blog entries
    Not necessarily an example from California, but there are good context-based road standards in the default SmartCode (http://www.smartcodecentral.org/smartfilesv9_2.html).

Speaking from both personal experience and those of many other planners, the biggest barrier to narrower streets are fire departments. There's several threads on Cyburbia about the subject. Also check out the Emergency Response and Street Design Initiative by the Congress for the New Urbanism (http://www.cnu.org/emergencyresponse). The ERSD section of the CNU site is packed with helpful guides, model ordinances, and the like.
    Growth for growth's sake is the ideology of the cancer cell. -- Edward Abbey

Registered
    Dec 2009