Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Bowmanville West Town Centre

Registered
    Jan 2010

Bowmanville West Town Centre

Hello everyone. I'm new to this site so please forgive me if I am posting this in the wrong section. I'm a recent graduate from an Urban and Regional Planning-GIS Technician program. Employment opportunities are hard to come by here in Ontario, so in the mean time I keep myself busy with projects I create for myself. I thought I show one of my latest projects to get some feed back from some professional planners. If you could let me know what you think it be greatly appreciated.

This is my newest development called Bowmanville West Town Centre which is located in Bowmanville, Ontario. Bowmanville is a small town of 30 000 plus residents, yet rapidly growing. This development takes place within the west end of the town where a large commercial-retail centre is to be created.

Here is a shot of the area to date.

[IMG][/IMG]

This is the initial master plan for the area set out by the municipality.

[IMG][/IMG]

I found this master plan to be somewhat typical and lacking creativity. The plan also follows sprawl like characteristics which is not intent of Ontario's Places to Grow Act.

This is my version of the Bowmanville West Town Centre

Here are some site statistics

The area in total is an estimated 119.01 ha. (293 ac.)

Commercial-Retail - Estimated 102,550 sq m. (1,103,848 sq ft.)
    This contains a 24 screen movie theater, 9 large retailers, and 33 other commercial- retail uses.

Office Space - Estimated 57,984 sq m. (624,134 sq ft.)
    Contains 6 office structures.

Residential - Estimated 2115 units
    Contains 4 condominium towers, townhouses, and 16 low rise condominiums

There is also;

GO Transit Station which is a rail station connecting to Downtown Toronto.
    Clarington Central High School
    Police-Fire Station
    Church
    Recreation Cmplex
    Sports Field-Two baseball diamonds and soccer field