Urban planning community

Closed thread

Thread: Greetings from Puerto Rico

Greetings from Puerto Rico

Hi, I am a high school student who understands all the concepts of New Urbanism and Smart Growth and I am constantly promoting it in my community.

Puerto Rico in a sense resembles New Jersey, or so I have been told specifically because it is lined with wide avenues with strip malls and gated communities and people who park on the sidewalk, amongst other things.

A little bit of history:

— The Mayagüez tram begins service in 1875.

— The San Juan tram opens in 1880 with initial track length of 12 km.

— The Ponce tram is inaugurated on the 17th of June 1880 and covered a distance of 4 km.

http://ferrocarrilesdepuertorico.web...1contenido.htm

— In 1891, the national railway is completed.

— In 1893, public lighting becomes first arrival of electricity to Puerto Rico.

— In 1917 construction begins on PR-2, otherwise known as the "Military Road" it is a 4-lane road along most of its path and runs along the coast San Juan - Arecibo - Mayagüez - Ponce.

— The last San Juan streetcar is taken off the streets on the 30th of September 1946. There was a time in its history when the system was on par with those in New York City and Europe. The system was replaced with newer, more "modern" buses and generations of history are torn up or paved over.

© Allen Morrison

http://tramz.com/pr/sj.html

— Mayagüez and Ponce systems met similar fates years before.

— The national rail system was torn up off the Island in the 1950's. This coastal train circulated the Island and met the logistical needs of all coastal municipalities. Most of the track was recycled.

— Up until the 1950's, Puerto Rico ran mostly on hydroelectric power. Then they decided to run on [b]oil]/b]. In 1950, the first Oil Power Plant in San Juan is built.