Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: How property lines are located on actual site to centimetre precision.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Oct 2009

How property lines are located on actual site to centimetre precision.

I am studying a case where A sued B for encroachment because B built a retaining wall along their property line that went 0.07m over onto A's land. (Of course B's wall actually benefited A as it prevented any possible landslides under heavy rain conditions. A just hated B and sought a mandatory injunction.)

But my question is how do property lines get translated from maps on to the ground with such precision? Does B have a case to saying that he built the wall EXACTLY within his land, the measurement is simply inaccurate.

ps. Sadly, A actually won.

Registered
    Feb 2007
    Quote Originally posted by vxw View post
    But my question is how do property lines get translated from maps on to the ground with such precision? Does B have a case to saying that he built the wall EXACTLY within his land, the measurement is simply inaccurate.
    Legal description followed by survey completed using GPS technology. Said GPS technology will give an accurate legal description, hence to the tee of .07m Legal description are required as a part of plat/subdivision maps and are recorded at the assessors office of a local jurisdiction for real property.
    Men do dumb $hit... it is what they do to correct the problem that counts.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Oct 2009
    Thanks for the quick reply.
    I can imagine someone going to measure with both parties looking over shoulder. Much like the first down chain in football... 4th down and inches, sorry pay up.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2009