Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Student entering the job market

Registered
    Feb 2010

Student entering the job market

Hello everyone. I'm a graduate student getting a MUP and am about to graduate within the year. Based on the current job market and the lack of students being able to actually land a job these days, I'm considering AmeriCorps or some alternative until things get better.

2 things:

1) Do you think the employment opportunities for graduates with an MUP will be better or worse than before in a years time?

2) Would you do AmeriCorps if you couldn't find a job?

Thanks

Registered
    Feb 2007
    Quote Originally posted by chunndr View post
    Hello everyone. I'm a graduate student getting a MUP and am about to graduate within the year. Based on the current job market and the lack of students being able to actually land a job these days, I'm considering AmeriCorps or some alternative until things get better.

2 things:

1) Do you think the employment opportunities for graduates with an MUP will be better or worse than before in a years time?

2) Would you do AmeriCorps if you couldn't find a job?

Thanks
    Welcome. You will find many of us here that are actively seeking employment whether it is their 1st planning gig, next one from being laid off or the next big thing. to answer your question, i do not have a crystal ball. You can search the threads for what some planners foresee as this being a long recovery, with little to no job opportunities. I think your employment opportunities in general depend on how mobile you want to be, how much you are willing to be paid versus how much you feel you deserved to be paid, and of course, the economy itself. To answer you two questions see below. Good luck.