Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Community planning and development as a career? (was "Community Planning and Development question")

Registered
    Mar 2010

Community planning and development as a career? (was "Community Planning and Development question")

Hello All,

I am currently a 2nd year undergrad pursing a sociology degree who is currently interested in community planning.I am a very altruistic person and enjoy working with people on the ground level. Social problems concern me and therefore I would like to be in a profession which allows me to help large groups of people who are in these problems and help create plans which will prevent these problems from reoccurring. From the research I have done, community planning consists of going into the community finding out their issues, drawing up a plan based on their concerns then implementing the plan if allowed by the local government ect. It also includes a lot of face to face interaction with the residents of said area and allows the planner to create programs which incorporate the people living there so they will be a part of the solution. Salary does not matter for me in the beginning, but as I grow older I would like to be able to comfortably support a family.

Is this the line of work I should be in? Or should I look for something else.
    Thanks for the Input.

Moderator note:
    Maister: Seems to be a career-related question. Moved from Economic and Community Development forum. Carry on.
    Last edited by Maister; 12 Mar 2010 at 9:09 AM.

moderator in moderation Suburb Repairman's avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2003