Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Work experience

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Feb 2010

Work experience

I will be graduating and obtaining my bachelor's in December of this year and plan on applying to quite a few master's programs in urban planning, given the current state of the labor market for college graduates. I'm majoring in economics, have a decent GPA, and will be taking the GRE this summer, but what I'm concerned about is the importance of work experience in admission decisions. Granted, I will have an unpaid internship at a regional economic development office this summer, but other than that, I don't have much experience in anything related to urban planning, as I only became seriously interested in urban planning as a career late last year.

Anyway, I was looking at the admission criteria for U Illinois, and it seemed they place a lot of weight on work experience when judging the qualifications of prospective students. Therefore, i would like to know if I am automatically at a disadvantage because I am applying straight out of undergrad without the same level of working experience as other applicants, as it does seem that most people who apply to these programs are older and much more experienced.

Thanks for the help.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Sep 2009
    you will be fine

Agreed. While experience will definitely help an application, there are so many other variables that admissions will look at. And they know experience is hard to come by, even in the form of internships, especially at an undergraduate level. Focus more on the things you can control (i.e. grades, getting good references, GRE scores, write-up).

Just a musing: While there would be no issues with admissions, those who have a year or so of work experience may get more out of grad school than those going directly from undergrad. Also, it may be easier to find employment after grad school.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2010