Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Matching education and experience to stated qualifications [was: Do I have a chance?]

Registered
    Jan 2006

Matching education and experience to stated qualifications [was: Do I have a chance?]

A job is open that's been open for about two months now. Reading the job description I'm very interested in the job. The job requires a bachelors degree and seven years of experience, or any combination of experience and education. I have my masters and four years of experience, with a year of internship experience while in school. I've researched the position and looked over some of the work that has been done by the previous person(s) working in the position and feel very comfortable that I could handle the responsibilities. As far as my work experience, I feel very comfortable that I could show similiarities between my previousl work and the requirements of the position that adequately show I am competent enough for the job.

The question I have is does the fact that I had to use education and internship experience make this an uphill battle, impossible, or am I over thinking this altogether? Also, does it tell me anything (they are being picky, organizational disfunction, no one wants to work there...) as the position is open until filled and it has been open for almost two months in this economy?
    Much work remains to be done before we can announce our total failure to make any progress.

No offense, but it is pointless to be spending the time on asking these questions. Just apply for it.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006