Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Best-fit careers for undergraduate urban affairs/planning

Registered
    May 2010

Best-fit careers for undergraduate urban affairs/planning

Two years ago, I graduated university with a Bachelor in Urban Affairs and a concentration of Land Planning and also received a certificate in G.I.S. In addition to this, I achieved a minor in German but as I have yet to find a job in the field, I am considering other fields.

Unfortunately, when I made the mid-college decision to buckle down so-to-speak and choose a career, I had it in my mind that urban planning would be more about the actual architecture and building structure/form than what I found, but found out that it was more politically intense than I enjoy, yet decided to push through anyway. The G.I.S. aspect of the field was most interesting but am yet not able to find a job there either.

Does anyone know of any really good transitional fields where I might be able to use a passion for building/ancient history/foreign languages and an urban planning degree (found out my school's program isn't accredited as well)? Any help is appreciated and I do understand that this is an odd question, not meant to be insulting to the planning profession.

Thanks.

Registered
    Dec 2008
    First, no offense taken. Planning attracts - and repels - all kinds. G.I.S. or design work for an architecture/planning firm, maybe a special district or non-profit (historically significant architecture, etc.) might be good transitions but from your post I gather you've been looking at those.

I would focus on those less "public" options since you dislike the politics, and keep trying. With that said, have you thought about teaching? I know it's not a viable option for everyone...
    "...I would never try to tick Hink off. He kinda intimidates me. He's quite butch, you know." - Maister