Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Studying urban planning/design in the global south

Registered
    May 2010

Studying urban planning/design in the global south

Hello All,

I have been looking for a program in Urban planning/design that concentrates on developing regions (global south)

I found an Urban Design Masters course in Nairobi, Kenya at a national university, that works in conjunction with other African universities so that students learn in Kampala, Dar Es Salaam, Accra, Nairobi, Cape Town, Abuja and Johannesburg.

Its a very exciting program however I am afraid that if I get my masters from an African institution it will not be very highly regarded (if recognised at all!) outside of sub-Saharan Africa. I want the freedom of being able to live/work in as many parts of the world as possible.

FYI- I completed my first degree in Western Canada

Any thoughts?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2004
    I would encourage you to look at urban planning programs with a strong "international planning" concentration, where you will be able to devote a significant portion of your research to a context outside the "north" Such a program would be better if it were in a university with strong area studies programs in the geography you are interested in.

Some immediate programs that come to mind: MIT, Berkeley, Michigan, Cornell, Tufts (not exactly planning), etc.

Registered
    May 2010
    Thanks.

Although you haven't said so explicitly, I take it you would encourage me not to study at an African institution.

I will definitely be applying to some of those institutions next year.

Thanks

Registered
    May 2010
    Quote Originally posted by afrurbanist View post
    Its a very exciting program however I am afraid that if I get my masters from an African institution it will not be very highly regarded (if recognised at all!) outside of sub-Saharan Africa. I want the freedom of being able to live/work in as many parts of the world as possible.