Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Estimating project costs

Registered
    Jun 2010

Estimating project costs

I am a planner who works in a government agency. I will be preparing a grant proposal for a single mode regional transportation plan or something to that effect. I have no experience working in the consulting field so have a difficult time getting a handle on what an appropriate cost should be for consulting services. Are there any resources that could help me to determine how much a complex project should cost?

Registered
    Feb 2007
    Quote Originally posted by andrewjd View post
    I am a planner who works in a government agency. I will be preparing a grant proposal for a single mode regional transportation plan or something to that effect. I have no experience working in the consulting field so have a difficult time getting a handle on what an appropriate cost should be for consulting services. Are there any resources that could help me to determine how much a complex project should cost?
    Contact neighborhing agencies and do the following:
    a) ask if the did a similar study
    b) if they did, request the RFP and proposals submitted. Each proposal should have a cost associated with it.
    c) Take an average of the cost proposals and add a contgiency fee to it.
    Men do dumb $hit... it is what they do to correct the problem that counts.

Registered
    Aug 2006