Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Sharing work product/ideas with prospective employers?

Registered
    Jun 2010

Sharing work product/ideas with prospective employers?

I am a recent graduate of urban planning with TOD and urban design specialization. However I would like to solicit a few responses from all of you regarding about the following:

I got into contact with a private planning firm recently, but the person said the firm does not have a lot of work in hand for them to hire me. However they are very interested in my preliminary document for a future development in my hometown which I briefly talked about (but did not present the actual report in hard copy). He would like to take a look at the it in the near future, and he think it is worthwhile he and the firm would like to collaborate with me on this.

My questions are:

1. Is it okay to show it to him despite there are no guarantees on my participation (only possibilities for collaboration was mentioned by him)?

2. If it’s okay to show it, what levels of information should I reveal and what should I withhold just to protect myself against idea theft? Is a brief half-page summary good enough?

3. I will meet with planners at my hometown later this week on employment prospects in Fall, however is it okay for me to talk about my document briefly (but not revealing the details of my meeting with the private firm) to get their interest in my credentials?

Thanks alot!
    Last edited by Reelin; 23 Jun 2010 at 12:33 PM.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    How do you define proposal? Are you a developer proposing a new project in your hometown, or are you merely writing a report on your observations?
    "This is great, honey. What's the crunchy stuff?"
    "M&Ms. I ran out of paprika."

Family Guy

Registered
    Jun 2010
    Thanks for the reply,

Regrettably I don't have the money to become a developer.