Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Should I even bother with planning?

Registered
    Jul 2010

Should I even bother with planning?

So I have a bachelor in Geography, emphasis of Community and Environmental Planning. I've been working as a flight attendant for the last 5 years since I graduated and just decided about 2 years ago to actually go into the Planning field. I quickly realized it was hard to find a job that didn't require experience and since I never did an internship I don't have any. So I decided I might as well just go for my masters since I would need it anyway and I could get my experience while I was at it. I moved to Utah because I liked the program at UofU and it was much cheaper than Chicago where I was. Now after almost a year of earning my residency I'm ready to apply and I'm having serious doubts. Mainly I'm worried about getting into all this debt and then getting out and not making a lot more to start than I'm making now, especially since I'm not totally sure I will even like the field. One of the other concerns I have is that it is really looking like I will have to move to wherever I can get a job, not where I want to live. This is also a problem because my boyfriend will be graduating around the same time and will also have to move where he can get a job. I'm 27 years old so I feel like I don't have a lot of time to waste on this. Now after finding this forum I'm seeing all these recent graduates post that there are no jobs out there right now period. I'm also thinking of just practically starting over and going back for nursing. I know I've put a lot of thought and time into going for planning but I'm ready to abandon it altogether and totally switch gears. Does anyone have a suggestion or opinion on my situation? Thanks!

Registered
    Aug 2001