Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Recent grad: should I get my masters?

Registered
    Feb 2009

Recent grad: should I get my masters?

It has been one year since I graduated from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo with a BS in City & Regional Planning. Like many others, I have had no luck in landing a job in planning or related field. Should I go back to Cal Poly and get a Masters in Planning? Does anyone know how long it would take to get a Masters? Since I received my undergraduate degree in planning, is it possible to get a Masters in Planning in one year?

Thank you

Registered
    Feb 1998
    Planning graduate programs are two years. I would go for it. The job market has to improve in that time, and you will have better credentials.

Registered
    Feb 2009
    Are you sure the masters programs are two years if you attend the same university as you did for a undergraduate in planning. I believe many of the classes I had during my junior and senior years had grad students in them.

Thanks

Registered
    Feb 1998
    You could get on the Cal Poly planning program web page, or you could take the word of someone in Kansas who has never been to California.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    Quote Originally posted by mike gurnee View post
    Planning graduate programs are two years. I would go for it. The job market has to improve in that time, and you will have better credentials.
    There is mounting evidence we may fall back into another recession soon similar to the 1980/1982 double recession. Personally I don't think the planning profession is going to rebound for another 3-4 years. I would either earn your planning degree at another school (for variety AND to expand your network even more) or I would go in to another related field (architecture, policy, finance, etc.) to diversify your transferable skills. Regardless, now is the time to be earning and working on those internships to beef up your portfolio.