Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: A new idea on a completed site plan

Registered
    Jul 2010

A new idea on a completed site plan

I don't consider myself a professional planner although. as an architect I offer planning services. My experience has been limited to small projects and balancing building areas with parking and landscape requirements to reach that balance to delight the developer and to get the project through planning. This site did make it through the planning commission and the plat was recorded. However, having recently passed my LEED Green Associate accreditation, I have a different "take" on this project.

Briefly described, the site contains three identical two-story "Professional Office Buildings," a bank pad and ground surface parking. What I started to sketch was three story office buildings of equal area to the two-story buildings. Then I blocked out a multi-leveled parking garage in lieu of surface parking. What this concept achieves is a smaller footprint! I ended up with a lot more open space. That's what I wanted to do, but no developer would buy this scheme!

Registered
    Jan 2005
    Paying for a parking garage is never going to be an easy sell. Unless you are in a dense urban area where land is at a premium, three separate office buildings, with each able to see their parking lots, will sell much sooner.

Unfortunately, developers look only at the bottom line - what is it going to cost me, who can I attract. Not the impact of their development on the environment, or the impact on the community.
    A common mistake people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools. -Douglas Adams

Registered
    Jul 2010
    You summed it up perfectly (unfortunately).

Registered
    Dec 2008