Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Need advice for a potential future planner

Registered
    Aug 2010

Need advice for a potential future planner

Hi everyone!

I am new to Cyburbia, and I'm glad I found it, because I have a lot of questions as I am considering applying for a Masters degree for next year. So please bear with me as I throw out all my questions/concerns:
    • I graduated with my bachelor's degree in economics. I think this is a useful degree to enter planning with (most people don't understand the importance of market forces in people's decision making). Are there any challenges to transitioning into planning from econ that anyone could bring to my attention?
    • I want to study and eventually work internationally. I'd love to get a degree from a school in the UK or Australia. I've found rankings of the top schools in the US but none of other countries. I've noticed the program at UCL getting mentioned several times here. What are the best schools internationally? And how hard are the admissions (even admissions to planning programs generally - is GPA, test scores, or essays most important?)?
    • How can I get experience? Right now I'm working at a law firm (with no intention of going to law school). Should I try to work at a real estate firm? I've been looking for planning jobs (AECOM) but they all require a master's degree or just simply aren't hiring. I don't want to enter into a career unless I'm absolutely sure it's the right fit for me. And as great as planning fits with my interests in theory, I won't know for sure until I gain some hands-on experience.

Sorry if I ramble. I'm still figuring things out myself. All I know is that I love geography, economics, international travel, constantly working on something new, helping people in their everyday lives, and exploring cities, and I want to combine all of that into my career. Any advice would be most appreciated! Mucho thanks.

Registered
    Jul 2009