Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Already have bachelor's + experience. Is master's worth it?

Registered
    Sep 2010

Already have bachelor's + experience. Is master's worth it?

Hello, I am brand new to this site and looking for advice.

I am trying to decide if I should pursue a Master's in Urban Planning. But I wonder if there's any value in it. I have a Bachelor's in Urban Planning and have worked in the planning field, for the same employer, for my entire career - 12 years.

My career progress has been slower than I'd like. I'm essentially at the same pay grade-level, as when I started. I'll admit, my career hasn't been the highest priority in my life since college. But that's now changing.

I'm focused on advancement and I'm wondering how I can best help myself?

I welcome any thoughts .....

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Yes, and especially now. Consider that when you look at another job, there are now potentially hundreds of applicants, many with 12 years of experience and a bachelor's degree. Many have more than that. A masters is one of the criteria that will be used to screen applicants.
    Anyone want to adopt a dog?

I agree with Cardinal. You have extensive experience as a planner, so one thing to consider is to specialize in an area that interests you but different than what you currently do day to day. It will make you more marketable and you will get a lot more out of the master's program.

I had a roommate that worked as a planner for ~5 years. He went to grad school as the economy turned bad and choose to specialize in the same area he worked as a planner. He was frustrated with the curriculum at times because it wasn't 'real world,' and he was not learning anything new except in coursework outside his specialty.

It might even be worth it to take a peak into other masters programs. For example, a masters in public administration could be excellent for career advancement in government.

Registered
    May 2005