Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Second degree in civil engineering?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Oct 2010

Second degree in civil engineering?

Background:

I have a bachelors in Environmental Sciences (hard sciences curriculum type) and worked in the environmental engineering field for several years. I recently earned a Masters in Urban Planning.

My interest in general is planning and design. I would love to do design, environmental planning, and community development.

Of course, I can't for the life of me find a job or even an interview right now.

I'm thinking of going back to school for a 2nd degree in Civil Engineering. It's going to take at least 2.5 years. If I finish, it will allow me to work as an engineer and get PE certification. This is quite valuable in the environmental/civil engineering field.

I have no planning experience, but I figure a CE degree would be great there too. After all, CEs are needed to implement the structures planners formulate, no? So, I figure with a CE degree, planning masters and environmental background, I'll have all the bases covered and be able to get a job with mostly any engineering or planning firm and eliminate any kind of ceiling (short of architecture). At least that is my thinking.

The only problem is time and cost/benefit. I'm already over 30. So I'm leaning against going back to undergrad. But can someone in the professional field convince me why going back and getting a Civ E degree would be an outstanding idea. I've already been accepted to a few local schools.

Registered
    Jul 2009
    Quote Originally posted by jobaba View post
    Background:

I have a bachelors in Environmental Sciences (hard sciences curriculum type) and worked in the environmental engineering field for several years. I recently earned a Masters in Urban Planning.

My interest in general is planning and design. I would love to do design, environmental planning, and community development.