Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Schools focused on site planning

Schools focused on site planning

Hi guys, first post so bare with me.

I'm kind of looking into getting my Masters from a school that focus around site planning or transportation planning in the SE. I've been reading the forums for the last couple of days and haven't seen anyone post on good schools or well known schools when it comes to site planning. I'm pretty new to this field and only studied a little bit while I was in college, since we did not have any city planning courses.

I have a BS in Political Science and graduated about two years ago. I spent the last two years pretty much working a job that had nothing to do with my degree or anything I wanted to do. Could that be a problem?

I haven't taken the GRE, but from reading some of the post that shouldn't be a problem. The letter of recommendation might be, because I've spent two years out of college and don't work in a field that related to planning at all. I really need to make sure I can get an assistantship or something to help with the cost of tuition since student loans are already eating me alive.

Schools I've kind of considered are ... U. of Memphis, Clemson, and Auburn. Thanks.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    Quote Originally posted by Engero View post
    Hi guys, first post so bare with me.

I'm kind of looking into getting my Masters from a school that focus around site planning or transportation planning in the SE. I've been reading the forums for the last couple of days and haven't seen anyone post on good schools or well known schools when it comes to site planning.
    Can you elaborate more on "site planning". That is a very broad topic. Are you interesting in only sites relating to transportation?
    Last edited by mendelman; 25 Oct 2010 at 1:41 PM.
    "This is great, honey. What's the crunchy stuff?"
    "M&Ms. I ran out of paprika."

Family Guy