Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Non-planning job, but want to stay current (advice)

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jun 2006

Non-planning job, but want to stay current (advice)

I graduated in 2009 with a bachelors degree in urban planning and another in geography. Since then, I only managed to obtain two jobs. The first was at a law firm as a file clerk, where I was laid off after 3 months. The second I'll be starting Monday as a legal assistant for my county. Both of these jobs have nothing to do with urban planning or geography. I'm still in search for an urban planning and/or geography related job (GIS, et al), though they are difficult to find and obtain. I was wondering if it would be a good idea to create my own projects to work on to stay up to date on the subjects and the city/county, etc. Or would that be a waste of time? Would volunteering or potentially working on the weekend be a better idea to have so as to have some sort of record of this?

Registered
    Aug 2001
    You are absolutely on the right track. Work with local non-profits in the community/economic development sector. Volunteer to assist the planning department. Even go out and find communities that need a "project" completed. Get any practical experience you can. It will benefit you in the long run.
    Anyone want to adopt a dog?

Registered
    Aug 2009
    Sometimes the local commission or review body needs volunteers/assistants. Does your town have local advisory councils?...usually they will deal with specific neighborhood issues.
    "I'm a boomerang, doesn't matter how you throw me
    I turn around and I'm back in the game
    Even better than the old me"

Registered
    Jan 2005
    Volunteering is always a great option. Getting your understanding of how things work in your area is a great way to get your foot in the door, not to mention if you make yourself look good, you could get a nice recommendation letter.